Last Updated on March 16, 2020

Uganda Restricts Visitors from Countries with Cases Coronavirus

Bookmark and Share!

In an effort to curb the spread of the coronavirus, Uganda has restricted visitors from some countries. The countries restricted are termed with high cases of coronavirus, including China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, South Korea, and Spain.

The country’s health minister Jane Ruth Aceng in a statement said: “Government has decided to ask travellers from the affected countries not to come to Uganda because the high cases they are reporting can easily be imported into the country”.

A revised advisory that increased the number of high-risk countries from 7 to 16 was released by the Health Ministry. The new countries added to the list include the United States and the UK. Other countries are the Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Austria, and Malaysia.

In the revised statement, travellers from these countries are urged to consider postponing any un-important travel to Uganda.

Related: Coronavirus Pandemic -Kenya Bars Entry to Non-Resident

Aceng said those who insist on visiting the East African nation from these countries would have to self-quarantine at their own cost for 14 days either at home or at a government facility. Ugandans in affected countries are not exempt from the travel restriction.

Jane Aceng also announced that Uganda has also postponed the 2020 United Nations G77 and China Summit scheduled for mid-April in the capital of Kampala due to the coronavirus threat. More than 6,000 delegates from 136 member states were due to attend.

Rwanda Air, Kenya Airways and Morocco’s Royal Air Maroc are among some African airlines that have suspended flights to China. Ethiopian Airlines, however, tweeted that it will keep operating flights to China while adhering to international standards to ensure the safety of its

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Bookmark and Share!

Leave a Comment